The human heart has hidden treasures, In secret kept, in silence sealed; The thoughts, the hopes, the dreams, the pleasures, Whose charms were broken if revealed.  – C. Bronte

 

You say I’m pretty

But all messed up

I say it was enough

To make you fall in love

You say I’m not

All that nice

I tell you that I hate goodbyes

You say you’ve got

OCD

I ask with what,

You say with me

I know it’s cheesy

But that’s okay

I’ve got a retard’s smile

on my face, all day

You ask if I want

Chocolates and roses

For Valentine’s,

I say no, that I really

Wasn’t that type

You grin and whip out

A box and a bouquet,

Flash those dimples,

Super cliché

I palm my face, tell you’re lame

Though I really wouldn’t mind it

If you do it again

You speak of things I’ve never heard before

I tell you about my love affair,

With green eyes

You frown and say,

Your eyes are brown

Brown’s fine darling, as long as you’re mine

Your eyes smolder like the sun

Your words seethe like the rain

I say you’re beautiful

You say I’m insane

You look me in the eye

Tell me you’ll never leave

I look away, but sometime that night

I start to believe

On rare days,

We never do speak

The silence between us,

Stretches like the seas

We sit side by side,

Yet don’t say a word

Somethings can remain unsaid

But still be heard.

One thought on “Things we say

Leave a Reply

